5th March 2019
' Nominations open '
26th April 2019
' Nominations close '
24th June 2019
' Shortlist announced '
10th July 2019
' Awards ceremony '

Frequently Asked Questions

Who organises the NHS Parliamentary Awards?

NHS England and NHS Improvement, in partnership with Dods, are running the awards in 2019 to thank staff for their dedication, hard work and commitment by recognising and honouring their achievements.

Who can nominate someone for an NHS Parliamentary Award?

Only an MP representing an English constituency can nominate someone for an NHS Parliamentary award.

Why are the Awards only open to individuals or teams based in England?

Responsibility for healthcare in Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales is devolved to the Northern Ireland Assembly, the Scottish Government and the Welsh Assembly Government respectively. The NHS Parliamentary Awards are run by NHS England and NHS Improvement to celebrate achievements in health care based in England.

Who can be nominated?

Anyone who fits the criteria of the categories can be nominated; they do not need to work for a traditional NHS organisation like a hospital.

I would like to nominate someone, but they have passed away. Can I still nominate them?

Yes, you are able to nominate someone who has passed away. However, please ensure that you have permission from the next of kin and they are happy for you to nominate. Please enter the details of the person that will represent the person and who we are able to liaise with​.

What happens with my nomination?

Nominations are shortlisted by senior regional NHS leaders. The regional leaders will provide 7 entries per category for the final shortlist - one entry per NHS Region per category. The shortlist will be published on the NHS Parliamentary Awards website on 24 June and in The House magazine (a political magazine covering the House of Commons which is widely-read by MPs).

A national judging panel will then score each of the shortlisted nominations and select an overall winner for each category.

Do I have to tell the person or people that I am nominating them/will I be told that I have been nominated?

Yes. Nominees should be informed that they are being nominated and involved in their nomination prior to submission.

How will MPs select someone to nominate?

It is up MPs to decide who, if anyone, they wish to nominate for each of the categories, and how best to go about this. For example, they may want to find their nominees through a local competition, a poll on their websites, or by partnering with a local newspaper or radio station.

As only an MP can nominate someone for an award we would urge you to get in touch with your MP(s) to tell them about the work they are doing. In the MPs’ pack we have suggested that they also get in touch with CCGs, Providers, charities and local groups to crowdsource nominees, but of course the best way to ensure they know about you is to tell them yourselves.

Can multiple MPs nominate the same person or team?

Yes. Lots of services operate across constituency boundaries. While judges will be aware that a nominee has been nominated more than once, this will not be considered as part of the judging criteria. 

Can the same organisation be nominated in more than one category?

Yes. Some organisations provide many different services or are involved in many different areas of work. As long as the nominations in each category fit the criteria of said category, they will be considered.

Can one project or team be nominated for multiple categories?

Yes. If you find that your project or programme fits more than one category you can be nominated all relevant categories. Please read the category criteria closely to ensure that your project or person fits the specific criteria for each award. 

Do MPs have to nominate someone for each category?

No, they can choose to nominate someone for one award or someone for each of them.

Can MPs submit multiple nominations for each category?

No. They can only place one submission per category; this can be for an individual and organisation or a team. 

How are the awards funded?

The NHS Parliamentary Awards do not cost the NHS anything to run. All costs are met by Dods, who run the programme on behalf on NHS England and NHS Improvement, with support from the Award Sponsors. 

Does it cost anything to enter?

No. Neither the nominee nor the nominating MP will be charged. Tickets to the awards ceremony, including refreshments, will also be free for shortlisted nominees.

When do the NHS Parliamentary Awards take place?

The Awards Ceremony will take place on Wednesday 10th July from 12:45 - 15:00 in the Terrace Pavilion, House of Commons, Westminster. Attendance to the awards is by invitation only. All shortlisted nominees will be invited to the ceremony. 

What if I am shortlisted but can’t afford to attend the awards ceremony?

The awards ceremony will take place in the middle of the day to reduce the need for shortlisted nominees to stay overnight. Support for travel may be available where the cost would provide a barrier to attendance.

Can you supply extra information as appendices, links or graphics?

No. To ensure that all nominations are assessed in a consistent manner all nominations must use the same format. We may ask shortlisted nominees for further information after they have been announced for promotional use; this will not be used as part of the judging process.

What is the judging process?

After the nomination window closes on 26 April, nominations will be sent to the relevant NHS England teams for initial sifting. Successful nominations at this stage will then go forward to a regional panel comprised of senior regional NHS England and NHS Improvement representatives.

The regional panels will each choose one nomination in each category to go forward to the national judging panel – these regional champions will be announced at the end of June as per the timeline above.

What is the deadline for nominations and are there extensions?

The nomination portal closes at midnight, Friday 26 April. Due to the expected number of nominations and the time required to shortlist and judge them no extensions will be allowed.